EU’s regulation on social security

The social security of persons moving between EU Member States is regulated by the EC regulation on the coordination of social security systems 883/2004. The regulation came into force on 1.5.2010.  It followed regulation 1408/71. The EU regulation on social security is used to decide which country’s social security is applied to a person who works in the EU area. The EU regulations take precedence over conflicting national laws.

Regulation 883/2004 applies to EU Member States, EEA countries  (as of 1.6.2012) and Switzerland (as of 1.4.2012).

EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary,  Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

EEA countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Regulation 883/2004 is applied to the following benefits:

  • sickness benefits
  • maternity and equivalent paternity benefits
  • old-age benefits
  • disability benefits
  • survivors’ benefits
  • early retirement benefits (part-time pensions)
  • benefits relating to accidents at work and occupational diseases
  • death grants
  • unemployment benefits (including benefits that are intended to maintain or improve the earning capacity)
  • family benefits (child benefit)

The regulation applies only to statutory social security. As a result, occupational pension systems are not covered by the regulation.

The regulation is applied to:

  • EU nationals who live in an EU country
  • refugees and stateless persons who live in an EU country and who have been covered by the laws of one or more Member State countries., as well as to their family members and beneficiaries
  • nationalities of third countries (excluding Denmark, Great Britain, EEA countries and Switzerland).

More on other sites: